Postoperative consultation

I saw my surgeon this week, Tuesday the 9th of March. I was honestly really nervous and I was sure that my bone that I got chiseled off my shin and reattached, hadn’t fused like it should have. Everything looked fine on the X-rays that I had – although you can’t see my Mpfl reconstruction (two anchors and a screw), which is very strange! But you can see my TTO surgery and the bone has fused, thankfully! Below you can see the two X-ray images.

My surgeon told me that the swelling I’m experiencing is unfortunately very normal, it will take a while to go back to normal, which sucks.. The pain in my knee isn’t normal though, it’s mainly in my arthroscopy incision that I’m experiencing a stabbing / burning sensation and he said to give it time, that I’m still healing and it could be the healing that’s making it so painful, or scar tissue. It can also be nerve damage, he wouldn’t rule that out, but only time will tell.

I won’t need my knee drained from fluids, I was really worried about that, because it was / is extremely swollen! (Picture below shows just how swollen!) No matter how much I elevate, ice and rest it my right knee / leg is just crazy swollen, it’s frustrating and painful. The swelling prevents me from bending my knee correctly and also walking normally. I don’t walk, I limp, and it’s honestly starting to really hurt my hip.

My surgeon told me that it’s important to tape my scars up, that way my skin won’t pull my incisions and they won’t get wider, but stay thin and small. So I’m taping them up like crazy, hoping it will make a difference!

I’ve been in a lot of pain this past week. My surgeon prodded my leg and knee to death and it’s just really sore right now, even more than usual, – which is a lot. I’ve been resting a lot, trying not to walk much and honestly it’s been really boring and mind numbing. My surgeon told me not to take any ibuprofen, because it slows down the healing process, so I’m only on paracetamol – which really doesn’t take any of the pain. But hopefully it’ll get better, most important thing is, that my tibia is fully fused and repaired. I’ll be gentle with my leg this following week and hope for the best.

Stay safe out there guys, and thank you for following my journey! 🤍

Leave a comment