Addiction

This post is about my biggest drug, Cola and what it’s like to be a caffeine addict. I am speaking about a personal low for me, being an addict is never fun, even if it’s only caffeine – it’s still horrible.

  
I cannot begin to explain how horrible this addiction is for me. Every time I eat anything, I would think “Ah a glass of Cola would be great with this!” And I would go and get one. I never said no to a glass of Cola, I would honestly panic if I only had two bottles of cola left in the fridge.

Christmas 2015 it really hit me, how addicted I actually was, I spend Christmas in England with my fiancé and his family and for four days, I had no Cola what so ever. I am telling you guys, the withdraw symptoms was horrific! I can’t start to describe how my body felt, the only way to actually describe it is like you are on a serious detox – a cold turkey, from a serious drug, not just caffeine.

My symptoms were:

  • Nausea
  • Dizziness
  • Migraines 
  • Tremors
  • Tiredness
  • Insomnia
  • Anger issues
  • No appetite

I felt horrible, it was so unreal and scary, I hated every minute and I can’t believe that it was that bad. 

It started the first day with a mild headache that I took some tablets for, I didn’t think about drinking Cola then, we were busy with life and Christmas at this point! Then it escalated at the second day to migraines and no pills could cure them, it was very bad! Shortly after I started having these dizzy moments, where I would think “wow I need something to drink now” and by then – I thought of Cola, and figured out something was very wrong. My fiancé also said it was withdrawal symptoms and tried to support me as much as possible. The third day I was a wreck! I was shaking, couldn’t concentrate, didn’t feel like eating anything, I was nauseous and tired but had trouble sleeping properly the night before, I was shaking too, I was short tempered and I felt so panicked. Day four was a bit better, still a headache, but not the migraine type, I still didn’t sleep good, I was so tired and worn and I was dizzy again.

My fiancé got very worried after this whole thing and so did I. I then decided that it was best for me to kick the habit as fast as possible.

When I got home I drank Cola again, it was stupid and I regret it, feels like I let myself down again. I drank a lot again, it was almost the only thing I had to drink on an entire day.

My fiancé talked to me about it, and I realized what I was doing was insane, dangerous and very stupid! I researched it and got so much information about Cola that it freaked me out. I then wanted to seriously stop drinking it and try to get it out of my system for good.

My fiancé was so supportive and told me to get something to drink to replace the Cola, and asked what I liked about the drink – I said the bubbles and the sweetness, and we decided that a water with mild sparkles and taste or a pop with no caffeine would be a good idea to replace it, to make me used to no caffeine and then slowly go from no pop and then water with sparkles and taste, to just regular water.

I chose 7up and a sparkling water with taste, none of them with caffeine and the water with no added sugar. So that’s what I’m trying to drink now. I drink as little Cola as possible – when I have very bad symptoms, I have a tiny glass.

This is the sparkling water with taste I drink now

This is the sparkling water with taste

 
Day one I had four glasses of Coke, day two I had three glasses, day three I was down to two glasses, this is day four and I had no Cola yet and I feel okay, not amazing but I’m okay. I have a headache and I feel worn, but I am okay.

I hope I can help someone else out there reading this post. I have had a hard time quitting and I still do. I haven’t quit completely yet, and I feel like a drug addict! I am scared of the symptoms and scared of what this drink have or can do to my body and my life span. I am trying to quit, I am struggling but I won’t stop trying.

Have you guys ever had an addiction? Cigarets, drugs, caffeine or so on? Have you quit or tried to? I’d like some good advice, it could be that it could help me even more!

See you online! x

Leave a Reply

