Learning equals living, right?

I have many passions!

Grooming my puppy Sammi is one of them..

 

I have a dear friend and she used to be a trained and licensed dog groomer, she loved it so much, and she still does. I must admit in some way, it rubbed off on me, her passion for grooming and trimming dogs, just blew me away, her stories she told me about dogs with matted coats, or long nails, just got to me, and also the good stories too, about great owners, coming in with their dogs on a regular basis, having their coats or nails taken care of. That made me intreagued in some way, to hear all of this. The whole thing might have taken abit over, especially when I groom and trim my Yorkshire Terrier puppy Sammi, who to be quite honest, would rather have frequent diaria than be groomed or trimmed by me that much! But as the well behaved puppy he is, he manages with only a spiteful glare or two, to survive my not so amazingly pro grooming and trimming skills. And he makes damn sure that I see how happy he is, when he is done! But as my friend says, practice makes perfect, and as my dad says, we learn as long as we live, and I really want to be good at this, for my dogs sake, so I can keep his coat perfect.

 

The other day, my friend showed me how you do the propper Yorkie ears, when their coat is kept short and fluffy. A lot of people keep their Yorkies short coated, if they dont plan on doing dog shows, its called a puppy trim and it looks so amazingly cute. Poor Sammi nearly had a stroke when she took out the trimmer and it started buzzing, and he flat out howled when she put it near his ear. She also used a scissor to cut the sides of the ears really short, so he got the pointy ears, wich is normal for a puppy trim. It was so close to the ears that I had sweaty hands and was shaking all over, from just thinking, that she might get the cut wrong.. But not her, she is damn near perfect when she has a pair of scissors in her hands. I hope that I will get that perfect someday, but its just to keep practicing. For now, I think will leave the ear trimming up to her for a while, cause I need alot of practice, and I dont want to do him any harm! Sammi got quite used to the trimmer, and in the end he settled down, and actually stood quite still, wich amazed me. That little guy learns pretty fast! The results got amazing, and his ears are awesome. I have groomed and trimmed everything else on him but his ears, so I guess im not that bad. Atleast im not letting his coat get matted and ruined.

 

Sammi being clever and all, have learned alot of new tricks! Sit, lie down, paw, hi-5, up and paws on arm. He isent that old yet, but he knows all the commands that are vital, like coming when I call him, knowing when I say no, it means no, knowing when i praise him, and he has been good and he has been walking without a leash from day one, cause he just listens to me when we take a walk. I guess he just finds me comforting in some way, or maybe he just gets that he shouldent run that far. Either way, he dosent run for it, and he can run and play free of his leash with other dogs. He even loves the big dogs, and finds them amazing, my sisters dog, a bordercollie named Molly, is his best friend. Molly being bigger, faster and older, makes it abit hard for them to play, but boy does he try, and sometimes, she gives in and lets him chase her, even though she is the sheep dog, and she normally chases everything. (Cars, joggers, kids, a mailman every now and then and the other dogs) She is a quite difficult dog to train, and belive me, we do try and we wont quit trying, but she is stubbern, even more than my little Terrier! Wich is quite amazing, cause their known for their stubbern personalities and their opinion about how they should be treated. Yorkies wants to be seen as equals, and not lower beings, wich most dogs accepts to be. But I guess thats what I find so amazing about Yorkies, they demand to be seen.

Leave a Reply

